Spinach, Bacon, Egg, and Avocado Salad

24 Apr

I like to eat a lot of salads for dinner. Not because I think I am eating a diet-like meal or anything like that, I just like to eat a lot of veggies and most of my favorite foods are vegetables. However, sometimes both the boyfriend and I will eat a delicious salad for dinner…and then our stomachs are growling when we go to bed. Thus, a salad with bacon, eggs, and avocado. I needed a salad with lots of good fat (and not-so-good fat from the bacon) and protein to keep me sustained.

IMG_0118

This salad is delicious for so many reasons. It’s a big bowl of things I love – the spinach is a super good for you, cherry tomatoes offer a juicy bite, the avocado is creamy and smooth, the egg is a good source of protein, bacon is well, bacon, and then the  Gorgonzola cheese offers a nice tangy bite. And, for the purpose of this meal, it is filling.

Ingredients:

  • Spinach/mixed greens
  • Cherry tomatoes, halved
  • Avocado, 1/2 sliced per serving
  • Hard boiled eggs, one per serving
  • Bacon, 1-2 pieces per serving
  • Gorgonzola cheese

Dressing:

  • Olive oil
  • Champagne vinegar
  • Dijon mustard
  • Salt & pepper
  • 1/2 shallot, finely minced

Instructions:

1. Hardboil your eggs. I boil mine for about 7-8 minutes and it usually turns out perfect.

2. Cook your bacon. Rinse and prep your veggies.

3. Assemble. I like to get a large salad bowl and layer up — spinach, cherry tomatoes, avocado slices, egg slices, bacon bits, Gorgonzola crumbles, and then dressing.

Simple, healthy, and yet hearty for a good dinner or lunch.

The Boyfriend Rates It3.5:

This is a good salad. I’ve never been a huge fan of hard boiled eggs but they add heartiness and protein to the dish. And you really can’t go wrong when you pair bacon and Gorgonzola/blue cheese. Healthy and light but still satisfying and filling.

Leave a Reply

