Spinach Strawberry Salad

19 Mar

A few months ago, boyfriend and I went to dinner with his parents and his mom ordered this salad and I have been craving it since. It looked delicious. I decided I needed to eat my own version. It is officially the first day of spring and this salad is a perfect way to start the new season!It is light, crisp, and good for you. Perfect.

IMG_0118

Ingredient List:
– Spinach
– Strawberries, sliced
– Walnuts, toasted & candied
– Red onion, sliced thinly
– Shredded chicken
– Gorgonzola cheese

Dressing:
– Olive oil
– Balsamic vinegar
– Honey
– Salt and pepper

Directions:

1. I actually used leftover shredded chicken I had from a different recipe for this. However, normally when I am just using chicken in a dish, I will boil it with salt, onion, and garlic. Once it is cooked, shred and you’re good to go. Easiest way to cook chicken ever.

2. Rinse your spinach well and distribute in your salad bowls.

3. Thinly slice strawberries and red onion. Top your spinach with strawberries, red onion, and gorgonzola cheese.

4. Toast your walnuts in a small pan on medium heat and toss in some sugar until the walnuts are caramelized. Add the walnuts to your salad.

5. Mix your dressing — olive oil, balsamic vinegar, honey, salt and pepper to taste. Dress your salad and eat up!

Easy as can be and the perfect combination of greens and sweetness with the strawberries and honey.

The Boyfriend Rates It:4
This is a really good salad. The the flavors of the red onion and the sweet strawberries go nicely together. Great summertime salad.

Also…still hoping for some pan recommendations, please?

2 Responses to “Spinach Strawberry Salad”

  1. Danielle March 27, 2013 at 9:44 pm #

    I love this salad! Your dressing sounds much healthier than the one I made with this salad, but you should try a lemon dressing made with juiced lemons, olive oil, champagne vinegar, and sugar. It complements the spinach and onions. I also used toasted almonds instead of walnuts (just because I like almonds better).

    • dplumly March 28, 2013 at 6:15 am #

      Thanks for the idea! I love the idea of a lemon dressing to complement this salad.

Leave a Reply

