Kale and Tofu Soba Noodles

20 Feb

Ooooooh goodness. This is a bowl of healthy yumminess. I like eating it almost as much as I like to look at it because it’s another one of those meals that just beams good for you. I can also take zero credit for this recipe because I found it here. I do nothing different except add extra amounts of veggies. Oh, and one time I topped it with sliced avocado. That was a good choice, and probably one I’ll repeat.

IMG_5866

Ignore that white piece of furikake dead in the center. I don’t know what happened, but this is the only pic I took, so love it.

Ingredient List:
– 1 bunch kale, torn and blanched
– 3 small carrots, finely grated
– 1 avocado, thinly sliced
– Tofu, cubed
– Soba noodles
– Green/spring onion
– Sesame oil
– Shoyu
– Dashi
– Rice vinegar
– Honey

Directions:
1. Cook your soba noodles according to the package instructions. Once it is done cooking, remove from the boiling water and rinse with cold water. This helps your soba noodles to not stick together. Trust me, I made that mistake once and it was a mushy mess that I did not enjoy.

2. The tofu. If possible, a few hours before you are going to cook your tofu, take it out of the packaging, drain it, put paper towels on the top and bottom of it, cover it, and let it drain. This helps take the moisture out and will allow your tofu to crisp up better when cooking.

Anyway, cube the tofu. Then in a pan with the oil of your choice, fry the tofu. While it is cooking, I like to season with shoyu, dashi, and a dash of sesame oil.

3. Tear your kale into bite-sized pieces and then quickly blanch it. Grate the carrots. Chop the green onion.

4. In a small bowl, combine the shoyu, sesmae oil, rice vinegar, honey, and green onion. Go heavier on the shoyu and sesame oil and lighter on the rice vinegar and honey — but taste it until it is delicious.

5. Now, in a large bowl, mix your veggies, noodles, and dressing all together. Serve up in individual bowls and top with furikake. Eat healthy and feel healthy!

The Boyfriend Rates It:4.5

I love this dish because it is good for you and it taste great. As I’ve stated before, I did not grow up eating Asian flavors, but I have always loved them. The shoyu and sesame flavors are the ones that I imagined all Asian food to taste like and I love them till this day. The kale along with the noodles really make this dish stick to your ribs, in a healthy way of course. And the carrots and green onion give it that crunch and bite that I always appreciate.

Leave a Reply

