Cabbage, Tuna, and Egg Stir-fry — Japanese comfort food

10 Feb

I have been barely posting lately, but I still have been cooking. Between the new clean eating I am trying to do, work, and my online class I am taking to become a certified online teacher, things are crazy! And when things get crazy, you need comfort food.

This is pure comfort food. My mom always made it for me on cold days, sad days, and poor days. It is cheap, easy, and delicious. I am always embarrassed to cook this for other people because I know it sounds weird and I can totally understand why people would not take to it. But if you like the ingredients, try it. It’s a perfect meal that leaves your belly full and your wallet full. I decided to finally post it because boyfriend actually liked it — and I figured maybe me and my mama weren’t crazy eating this. Even better, it’s ridiculously healthy — the egg and the tuna offer lots of protein and there isn’t anything bad in it to make it unhealthy. Plus, it’s delicious. Just try it.

IMG_5879

Ingredient List:
– 1 whole green cabbage, shredded
– 1 onion, chopped
– 4 eggs
– 2 cans of tuna
– Olive oil
– Salt and pepper
– Dashi
– Shoyu

– Furikake, for topping
– White rice, for serving

Directions:

Serves 2 for dinner & lunch the next day

1. Taking apart an entire green cabbage can be some work. The center is rough and there are a lot of white parts that are a bit tougher and not as tasty. However, cut it in half, cut out the core, and then start shredding the cabbage. I use the entire thing.

2. Chop your onion and mince your garlic.

3. Whisk together the eggs. Add a dash of salt and pepper. Sometimes I add a little pour of milk.

4. Drain the two cans of tuna.

5. Now, in a wok, add your oil of choice. Cook the onion and garlic. Once it starts to smell good in your kitchen, add in the cabbage. Warning – there is a lot cabbage so you might have to add this in batches. Cabbage cooks down a lot so what seems like a lot when it is fresh, actually wilts pretty quickly. As it is cooking, add the shoyu, dashi, salt, and pepper to taste.

6. In a separate pan, scramble your eggs.

7. Once the onion and cabbage have cooked down, add the tuna and egg. Stir together and season as necessary.

8. Serve over rice and top with furikake! Delicious, nutritious, and cheap! Everything a meal should be.

The Boyfriend Rates It:3.5
This dish is simple and even though I didn’t eat it growing up, I can why it’s would be considered comfort food. Cheap ingredients, filling and quite tasty.

6 Responses to “Cabbage, Tuna, and Egg Stir-fry — Japanese comfort food”

  1. Mary Catherine February 10, 2013 at 3:31 pm #

    I love the cabbage-as-comfort-food idea. Wonderful!

    I’ll have to give this a try!

    • dplumly February 18, 2013 at 5:18 pm #

      To make it Paleo, you’ll have to change the soy sauce and maybe you can eat it with cauliflower rice – or just plain! I hope it works for you.

  2. Victoria T August 16, 2015 at 3:17 pm #

    i just made something with some of the same ingredients. i was laughing at myself the entire time cooking it assuming it would be so disgusting but i was completely mistaken. I ate it so fast and wanted more! basically tacos… i cooked a can of tuna with two eggs in my pan added (goya, paprika, and oregano), thinly shredded some green cabbage and placed it on top of a spinach tortilla followed by my protein concoction, added some jalapeño/habanero salsa and wrapped it up. try it and let me know what you think 🙂

  3. S. Smith January 28, 2016 at 4:46 pm #

    In your directions you state to “mince your garlic” but it isn’t listed in the ingredients list. How much garlic?

    • dplumly January 28, 2016 at 6:00 pm #

      Whoops! I would suggest using 1-2 cloves of garlic. I hope you enjoy.

  4. Al March 28, 2017 at 8:34 am #

    My dad used to make this all the time. I guess we had no choice.

Leave a Reply

