Caprese Quinoa

27 Jan

Quinoa is one of those super healthy things to eat. I don’t know all the health benefits of quinoa, but it is a well-known anti-inflammatory. It also happens to be a trendy thing to eat right now – I see it everywhere. And frankly, I have fallen into that trip. And, as I am currently on a health kick, quinoa is a great thing for me to eat.

I am not into diets, I like to work out but am not a nut about it, so my 2013 plan is to eat healthier. I am trying to eat healthy and Sunday-Thursday and then allowing myself the freedom to enjoy whatever I want on Fridays and Saturdays. This allows me to continue making happy hours. 🙂 (You won’t really see this reflected in my blog since I still have a million old recipes from the month or so where I was Internet-less).

Quinoa is a great addition to salads or as a side dish. It has this crunchy little texture and really takes on the flavor of whatever you serve it with, so it is pretty easy to add to most things. I made this caprese salad with the leftover ingredients I had for the caprese salad portabella mushrooms I made.

IMG_5943

Ingredient list:
– 1 cup quinoa
– 2 cups chicken broth
– 2 chicken tenderloins, cooked and shredded
– Cherry tomatoes
– Basil
– Pine nuts, toasted
– Olive oil, red pepper flakes, salt, and pepper

Directions:

1. I think the easiest, quickest way to cook quinoa is in the rice cooker. In a rice cooker, I just added 1 cup of quinoa and 2 cups of chicken broth and let it do its thing.

2. Once the quinoa is cooked, add in the shredded chicken, cherry tomatoes, and basil. Season with red pepper flakes, salt, and pepper and dress with olive oil. Top with toasted pine nuts.

Perfectly easy and perfectly healthy!

The Boyfriend Rates It:3.5

Healthy, filling and tasty.

Leave a Reply

