Shrimp Cocktail

19 Jan

I am back!! It took us three weeks and three technicians to get our Internet at the new place, but I finally have it. I have been cooking a lot lately, but the posts will be slightly backed up and probably in a weird order since I haven’t had access to a computer except when I am at work. Those high school kids require some attention, you know, so blogging isn’t really an option while teaching algebra and five paragraph essays. Also, I am on a kick, like everyone else, to try and eat a little healthier and “cleaner” this year, so when I post something about a fatty, delicious meal….unfortunately, it might have been a few weeks ago. I need to get back into shape and I can still count on one hand how many times I’ve been running year….no bueno.

But this recipe is a delicious favorite of mine. And it is pretty healthy (except maybe the sodium content). Try it. You’ll like it. It’s even better in the summertime, but I live in San Diego. It’s almost always summertime, so this meal works for me year-round.

And here it goes…shrimp cocktail.

IMG_0225

This is not the shrimp cocktail that you’re thinking. This is shrimp cocktail as introduced to me from the boyfriend’s mom and it is uber delicious. You can eat it as a meal with some home made chips. It is stock full of shrimp, veggies, and the flavors are comparable to my favorite drink of all time — micheladas — clamato, tapatio, Tabasco sauce, Worcestershire sauce…goodness.

Ingredient List:
Note – This recipe will serve a lot of people. Adjust the portions as necessary.

– 1 pound shrimp (uncooked, with shells on) — keep the water you cook the shrimp in!
– 5 roma tomatoes, chopped
– 3 avocados, chopped
– 1 red onion, chopped
– 1 bunch of cilantro, chopped
– 1 cucumber, chopped
– 5 jalapeno peppers, chopped (adjust for your heat preferences)
– Clamato
– Ketchup
– Cocktail sauce
– Tapatio
– Tabasco sauce
– Worcestershire sauce
– Salt and pepper
– Garlic salt

Directions:
1. Boil the shrimp while the shells are still on. Take the shells of the shrimp and save the shrimp cooking water. You can either chop the shrimp or leave it whole – totally depends on how you like to eat it.

2. Chop your veggies – cucumber, tomatoes, avocados, cilantro, jalapenos, red onion. Along with the shrimp, add all your veggies to a large dish.

IMG_0217

Aren’t all those veggies just a beautiful color?

3. Next add all your condiments and seasoning. The measurements are, as always, up to you. If I had to guess what I used, I think it would come out something like this…
3-4 cups Clamato
1 cup shrimp cooking water
1 cup ketchup
3/4 bottle cocktail sauce
Juice of 4-5 limes
For the Worcestershire, Tabasco, and Tapatio, that really depends on how spicy you like things because all three of these will kick up the spice.
Then, add in your salt, pepper, and garlic salt.

4. Serve up! Boyfriend likes to spread mayo on his tostadas or tortilla chips, but I like to just dip and eat almost as if it is a chunky salsa. Enjoy!

The Boyfriend Rates It:4.5

This is one of those dishes I grew up eating, so I definitely have a distinct flavor I look for. Personally, I enjoy a heavy hand on the lemon, ketchup, clamato, and Tabasco sauce, but other than that this was an excellent dish. And doesn’t it just look amazing with all those colors?

Leave a Reply

