Quinoa, Spinach, and Kale Salad – Ultimate Healthy Salad

11 Jan

I am almost really back! I am posting this at work (whoops, sorry kids) but I should have internet back at my new apartment today!

For the past two months (pretty much since Thanksgiving) I have been eating like crap. In 2013, I have only gone running once – and I coach a running club at my school! Friday is my cheat day, so tonight I’ll be cooking pork belly crostini but all week I have been drinking smoothies for breakfast and eating super healthy diinners. This is an example. I don’t know much about detoxing and “clean” eating, but I do like to put good food into my body every now and then to balance out the cheese and pork belly that I really enjoy eating. But, even with that in mind, this salad is pretty delicious. And it has all sorts of good for you things in it — quinoa, spinach, kale, edamame…..don’t you feel healthy? And with the quinoa and the protein in the edamame, it is a satisfying vegetarian dinner salad. The blue cheese also kicks it up a notch and adds some creamy, tangy kicks to it.

IMG_5440

Ingredient List:
– 1 cup cooked quinoa (quinoa & chicken broth or water)
– Spinach
– Kale (with a squeeze of lime and salt)
– Walnuts, toasted
– Grapes
– Grape tomatoes
– Edamame
– Blue cheese, crumbled (or any cheese of your preference

Dressing:
– Olive oil
– Balsamic vinegar
– Salt & pepper
– Honey

Directions:
1. In 2 cups of chicken broth (or water, if you must but chicken broth gives more flavor), cook 1 cup of quinoa according to the package directions. Once it is cooked, rinse under cold water.

2. Cut spinach and kale into bite-sized pieces. In a separate bowl, squeeze about 1/2 a lime and sprinkle some salt on your kale – this breaks it down a bit so it is easier to eat raw.

3. Toast the walnuts in a pan – this just takes a second but brings out the flavor of the walnuts.

4. Make your dressing – whisk together olive oil, balsamic vinegar, honey, and salt and pepper. Depending on my mood (because this is my go-to salad dressing), I toss in a little lime juice also.

5. Assemble your salad – in a big salad bowl, portion out even amounts of spinach and kale. Top with the quinoa, cherry tomatoes, grapes, edamame, blue cheese, and dressing. Enjoy!

If I had it, I think I would even add avocado to this salad to add to that creamy texture. Plus, I’ll add avocado to just about anything. Yummy!

The Boyfriend Rates It:3.5
Again, salad which I’m not too fond of but it is good. Not as good as the kale salad but tasty and filling.

Leave a Reply

