Japanese Instant Noodle Soup (but done yummy)

6 Dec

I lived off this stuff in college. And, yes, it’s ramen. But it is also delicious. It is a very quick, cheap dinner and if you load it up with the right toppings, it can also be a bit healthier than you think and satisfying.

What makes ramen not the best thing for you is that often brands use MSG (mmmm…but baaaadddd) and/or very salty broth seasonings. The quick fix to this? Use only about half the seasoning packet or make your own.

Ingredient List:
– 2 packets of instant ramen noodles
– Spinach
– Shitake mushrooms
– Snow peas
– Sesame seeds
– Sesame oil
– Shoyu
– Salt and pepper

Other optional toppings:

– Hard boiled egg, sliced
– Fish cake, sliced
– Bean sprouts

I like this brand of ramen noodle. I only use half the packet of seasoning but it has a slight spicyness to it from the kimchi flavor that I like. It’s not Japanese, though.

Directions:

1. In a boiling pot of water, soak your shitake mushrooms. Depending on how many mushrooms you have, this could vary in time. I tend to do big batches and then leave them in the fridge since I use them so frequently. Once they are rehydrated, drain them but retain about 1/2 cup of the soaking liquid.

2. In a pan, heat just a bit of vegetable oil. Then, add your shitake mushrooms. As they are cooking, flavor with sesame oil, dashi, shoyu, salt, pepper, and the soaking liquid. Once it is done, you can add the sesame seeds and even chopped green onion.

3. Repeat this same cooking process with the other vegetables that you use — snow peas, spinach, bean sprouts, etc.

4. Cook your noodles according to package instruction. For the broth, this is my suggestion – use half of the seasoning packet and then use dashi, shoyu, sesame oi, or chili oil to add more flavor.

5. Lastly, just assemble. I like to create little portions of the veggies/toppings around my noodle bowl and typically serve the sliced hard boiled egg in the middle (I didn’t use egg this time because I have been eating a lot of egg and rice for breakfast). Get out your soup spoon and ohashi and slurp up!

The Boyfriend Rates It:3.5
Pretty tasty for being so simple. The veggies add that healthy factor and it reminds me of when I was younger and used to cook for myself, but without the veggies.

Leave a Reply

