Steak with Chimichurri Sauce & Brussel Sprouts

25 Nov

A few weeks ago, my Tia was in town and boyfriend and I took her and friends to one of our favorite restaurants — Wet Stone Wine Bar in San Diego. This place is delicious. It is very simple food, but with fresh ingredients and cooked perfectly. It is also served small plate style – a way I love eating. While there, we enjoyed a few flatbread pizzas, goat cheese and beet salad, bruschetta, queso fundido, and whole lotta wine. One of the flatbreak pizzas we ate had steak on it. It was delicious. At home, I tend to cook a lot of tofu, veggies, chicken and shrimp. It is a rare day when I make steak. This is mainly because I don’t cook it – boyfriend does. And the days that boyfriend spends in the kitchen are rare occasions. But after our dinner at Wet Stone, we wanted to make a dish that we’ve made for happy hour a few times – steak with chimichurri sauce. To accompany this, I decided to make brussel sprouts. Brussel sprouts are one of those veggies that are very new to me, but I like more and more as I eat them.

Ingredients:

For the steak:

– 1/2 pound steak – Although known for being cheap, I love flank steak. I typically buy this and then freeze the leftovers. I don’t know what type of steak boyfriend bought for this, but I recommend flank steak.
– A few good pours of beer
– Juice of one orange
– worcestershire sauce
– Salt and pepper

For the chimichuri:

– One bunch of parsley (sometimes I do half parsley and half cilantro)
– To taste – olive oil, apple cider vinegar, salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes
– 2 tbsp chopped onion
– 2-3 cloves minced garlic

For the brussel sprouts:

– Brussel sprouts
– Salt and pepper
– Olive oil
– A few dashes of balsamic vinegar
– If you have it, I would definitely add blue cheese. I didn’t have any in the fridge, so it didn’t make it this round but balsamic vinegar and blue cheese is the perfect combo for brussel sprouts.

Directions:

1. Prepare the chimichurri sauce. Finely chop the parsley, cilantro, and onion and combine in a bowl. Mince the garlic and add to the bowl. Then, to your taste, add olive oil, apple cider vinegar, salt, pepper, and the red pepper flakes. Combine well and then refrigerate to marinate the flavors while you prepare everything else.

2. Have your boyfriend cook the steak. He first marinates the steak with salt, pepper, and the worcestershire sauce. Then, as he is cooking, he drinks , I mean, adds a few dashes of beer. He also adds the juice of the orange and cooks until about medium well done. I don’t take part during this time. Our kitchen is so small, I watch the news and drink a glass of wine until he is done.

3. For the brussel sprouts, rinse them in cold water and then halve them. Season with salt and pepper. Then, in your skillet, drizzle with olive oil and then add the brussel sprouts cut side down.

4. Cook until they begin to soften and caramelize on the cut side. Continue to season with salt and pepper and add more olive oil if they start to stick to the bottom of the pan. When almost done, add the balsamic vinegar. Once you remove from the heat, I would add the blue cheese. I wish I had some when I made this.

5. Then, plate up and enjoy! This is a very easy and quick dinner to make with lots of flavor.

The Boyfriend Rates It:4
I’ve made the steak for this before and that time I would have rated it a 5. But this time the meat was a little fatty and tough, but it did have good flavor. The chimichurri definitely saved the day on this, as is is absolutely delicious. It’s flavorful and refreshing. And there’s nothing to not like about fresh brussel sprouts cooked in balsamic vinegar, but they probably could have benefited from some blue cheese.

Leave a Reply

