Cream Cheese and Crab Wontons

15 Nov

Cream cheese and crab wontons are one of my favorite things to make in bulk. They are ridiculously easy, but time-consuming. I literally make at least 50 and freeze them. This way, whenever I am tired and want a quick dinner, I can fry them up and eat them with rice and a cucumber salad. They are also a great freezer meal for nights when I am not home so that boyfriend can eat them as a snack with some Sriracha.

Ingredient List:
– Wonton wrappers (I can’t recommend a brand, because the past two times I have made these, the wrappers sucked)
– 1 package cream cheese
– 1 package imitation crab meat
– Green onions
– Garlic
– Shoyu
– Black pepper

1. In a large bowl, combine the cream cheese and imitation crab. Now, this might be gross to you, but you need to taste test to add the green onions, garlic, shoyu, and black pepper to a flavor that you like. Its the inside of your wonton so you want it the way you like it.

Then, the wrapping.

2. Lay out your wonton wrapper. (Did I mention that when boyfriend wrote out our grocery list he wrote wongtong? What is that? He is soo not Asian!)

3. Get a small spoonful of your cream cheese and crab mixture. Then, fold your wonton wrapper in half so that it creates a triangle. Using either egg white or water (this depends on the quality of your wonton wrapper –I have found the good ones need only water, while sucky ones need egg), seal these edges.

Then, take the edges and fold them down like this:

Seal this bottom edge and repeat (about 50 more times! 🙂 Seriously, that’s how much this recipe makes)

When you are all done, I freeze mine. When the wontons are all laid out, I sprinkle flour on them and then put them in a large freezer bag. My awesome friend taught me this trick. The flour prevents the wontons from freezing to each other in clumps. I almost didn’t believe her, but they are in my freezer and individually frozen. It’s glorious.

To cook them, heat a wok with vegetable oil. Toss in a few wontons and fry till golden crisp.

For the boyfriend’s family pot luck, I thought I would save myself the embarrassment of getting oil burns, and decided to bake these in the oven. Don’t do this! Terrible choice. Fry them. Don’t eat these unless you don’t like fried, cheesy goodness.

I highly recommend serving these with sriracha or a shoyu-wasabi mixture, a bowl of rice, and a cucumber salad with sesame-ginger dressing.

This will be dinner soon for us! But, if I had to make this better, I think I would use gyoza wrappers. After frying these up, I think the wonton wrappers are too thick for my liking. Maybe it’s my Japanese bias. I don’t know. But gyoza wrappers are thinner and fry better. Just my thought.

The Boyfriend Rates It:4.5
Crispy, creamy, fried goodness!!!

Leave a Reply

