Japanese Somen Noodle Salad

13 Nov

This past week, I have been cooking food out of ingredients that required very little grocery shopping. My cupboards and my freezer were getting pretty full and it is clean out week. Seriously, I spent less than $10 on some fresh veggies at the grocery store and that is it. Everything else I already had. This made cooking simultaneously easy (can’t get too detailed) and difficult (finding things that go together and still be tasty). So, with the somen noodles that I had bought on sale and stocked up on, the cucumber and onions that I had leftover (I bought an entire bag of each of these things for $1 last week), and the tuna that always holds a place in our cupboards, I decided to make a recipe from my Harumi’s Japanese Cooking cookbook by Harumi Kurihara. Harumisan has been compared as the Japanese Rachael Ray. She makes Japanese cooking easy and accessible. My Obachan has bought me four of these cookbooks in order to make sure I stay a good Japanese girl.

Ingredients:
– Somen noodes (I used 2 bundles)
– A can of tuna
– 2-3 TBSP of chopped onion
– 1 cucumber, cut into little mooons
– 2 TBSP of mayonnaise
– Shoyu, salt, and pepper

Directions:

1. Cook your noodles according to the package instructions. As soon as it is cooked, you need to rinse under cold water. Otherwise, the noodles stick together and get a mushy texture.

2. Chop your onion. If the taste of onion is very strong because it is raw, soak it in cold water for a little bit. This helps to take away the strong taste.

3. Cut your cucumber into half moons. I used an English cucumber because they are less watery. If you use regular cucumbers, I would seed it out first.

4. Drain your tuna.


Pretty much all this dinner takes!

5. In a large bowl, combine your noodles, tuna, onion, and cucumber. Then, to your taste, add the mayonnaise, shoyu, salt and pepper. I kind of hate mayonnaise. But balanced out with the shoyu, this actually tasted pretty good and not so mayo heavy.

Before boyfriend rates this, I have to preface it with this – I served this cold. Somen noodles are typically ate as a cold dish, with just the noodle and the broth. I enjoy this. Japanese eat a lot of cold foods and whenever I make them, he never loves it the way I do. Take that into consideration with his rating! šŸ™‚
I think it is a perfect component of a bento box lunch.

The Boyfriend Rates It:2.5
I’m not really a fan of cold foods. And its difficult to make canned tuna taste good. That being said, the dressing was tasty and the cucumbers, as always, added a refreshing element.

Leave a Reply

