Shrimp Nicoise(ish) Salad

12 Nov

After eating a few heavy meals, I always need a salad. I try to eat at least two salads a week for dinner (and my dinners always become my lunch the next day). I decided to go for a nicoise-style salad, but you will see that this salad is really just my version of a cobb salad with topping ingredient ideas stolen from the nicoise salad. Boyfriend was a little iffy on this idea since he had a nicoise salad before and didn’t love it. I convinced him that mine would be better. I was right (aren’t I always?)

Ingredients (served 2 for dinner and 2 for lunch):
– Romaine lettuce
– 3 purple potatoes
– 4 hard boiled eggs
– Green beans
– Shrimp (I buy uncooked, frozen)
– Tomato
– Olives

The Dressing:
All ingredients are just to taste
– Champagne vinegar
– Olive oil
– Dijon mustard
– Salt & pepper
– Juice of half lemon
– 1 chopped shallot

And, of course, I made garlic bread. I think you can do that. I like half a clove of garlic per piece of bread.

Directions:

1. To start, I boiled the eggs. This takes about 7-8 minutes.

2. Then, I boiled the potatoes. I have never had purple potatoes before. I planned on buying fingerling, because those are my favorite, but I was tempted with these colorful guys and decided to go for it. I can’t say that I thought the taste was that different, though. But, it looked cool. And when I packed this salad for lunch the next day, all my students were freaked out by what i was eating that was purple.

3. I never said that I wanted to eat the salad to be healthy, though. I just needed a lighter-feeling meal. For the shrimp, about 20 shrimp for four salads, I heated up some olive oil and butter. Then cooked the shrimp with salt, pepper, and lemon juice.

4. For the green beans, you just need to blanch them quickly in boiling water with some salt. You want them to retain the green color well and still have a bite to them.

5. For the tomato, I just cut them into wedges.

6. Black olives – open up a can and call it good.

7. For the dressing, you just need to chop the shallot, and then whisk your ingredients together to taste.

8. To arrange the salad, I put the chopped romaine at the bottom of the bowl and then just arranged the toppings in little sections around the bowl, with shrimp in the middle, a slice of garlic bread — and dinner time!

Overall, it is a simple, clean tasting salad. It definitely isn’t overwhelmed by ingredients or contrasting flavors — it is light, lemony, and surprisingly good.

The Boyfriend Rates It:3.5
This was better than the Nicoise salad I had in France last summer. I think it was too fishy for my liking. This one was light and refreshing. The green beans were nice and crunchy and the purple potato and tomato gave it a nice color contrast. And the dressing was zangy and tangy šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

