Michelada

11 Nov

My favorite drink.in.the.world.

I am not even really a beer drinker. I am a wine drinker. Big glasses of pinot noir are what normally accompany my dinners and happy hours. However, micheladas are perfect for hangover, brunches, happy hours, Mexican meals, chilaquiles, chorizo, and the list goes on. and on. and on.

Boyfriend introduced these glorious mixed beer drinks to me (duh). I remember when I first moved to San Diego, my TA used to drink Clamato and it made me feel sick. Clam and tomato juice? Gross. Clam juice, tomato juice, and beer – omg.

I was introduced to this drink in the simplest form – a Tecate beer (the Budweiser of Mexican beer) with some lime juice and salt sprinkled on top of the can. Meh. I’ll drink it at a carne asada, but I wasn’t gushing. Then, I met boyfriend’s dad. I can make a decent michelada, the boyfriend can make a good one, boyfriend’s dad….

Now, I am gushing.

The Ingredient List:

– Tecate
– Clamato (preferably with picante)
– Tabasco
– Worcestershire
– Lime
– Salt and pepper
– Taijin
– Tapatio

(Note: Before I lived in SoCal, I had never even heard of Taijin. It is a lime salt seasoning. If you live in SoCal, you can pretty much find this anywhere. When I go home to Washington, I can’t find it anywhere. I suggest trying your local Mexican grocery store if your regular store doesn’t carry it. It’s not complete without this ingredient!)

Directions
:
1. Choose a large glass (I like the cobalt blue glass I got in Puerto Nuevo).
2. Wet the rim of the glass (like a margarita), in lime juice and then line in a tajin and salt mixture.
3. Put a dash (more or less according to the taste you’ll develop) of tajin, salt, and pepper in your glass.
4. Squeeze half a lime into the glass.
5. Put a dash (or two or three) of Worcestershire, Tabasco, and Tapatio.
6. Pour a good splash (maybe a shot glass worth?) of Clamato, 2-3 ice cubes, and pour in your beer…..and enjoy!

I like my micheladas pretty spicy so I put extra amounts of Worcestershire, Tabasco, and Tapatio.

Drink this when you’re hungover or with chilaquiles for a weekend brunch. It might still be morning, but it is definitely 5 o’clock somewhere! In fact, boyfriend is in the kitchen right now making me one. Sunday football is a good reason, right?

The Boyfriend and the Girlfriend Rates It:
Boyfriend thinks that he shouldn’t rate this because he makes them. Eh, we both make them. I rate this a 5. Didn’t you read the first line of this post? My favorite drink.in.the.world.

7 Responses to “Michelada”

  1. sybaritica November 11, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    I’m not a fan of clamato juice either but this looks worth a try. What is Tapatio?

    • dplumly November 11, 2012 at 9:50 am #

      Tapatio is like the Mexican version of Tabasco sauce – basically just hot sauce. I use both, because I like my drink to be spicy. You could definitely make it with just Tabasco. And I agree with the Clamato – I would never drink it on its own, but it is delicious here! Thanks for reading this post!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chorizo con Huevo (my other favorite breakfast) « Mexicanese - November 11, 2012

    […] The great thing about this breakfast is that you can eat it with just about anything you like….just with a tortilla as a scooper, as a burrito, with beans, with papas (potatoes), sour cream, avocado, salsa, tapatio…oh, the options are endless and they are all delicious! And drink it with a michelada! […]

  2. Chilaquiles – My absolute favorite breakfast « Mexicanese - November 11, 2012

    […] I top my chilaquiles with salsa, sour cream, and avocado slices. In my opinion, it is best served with refried beans (cook your own! I am converted – I will never eat canned refried beans again) and a spicy michelada. Mmmm….michelada. […]

  3. Shrimp Cocktail « Mexicanese - January 19, 2013

    […] full of shrimp, veggies, and the flavors are comparable to my favorite drink of all time — micheladas — clamato, tapatio, Tabasco sauce, Worcestershire […]

  4. Crockpot Pork Loin | Mexicanese - March 10, 2013

    […] forever in our freezer – talipa fillets, a huge hunk of pork loin, Clamato (for all those micheladas – this one doesn’t go in the freezer though), and a ton of frozen fruit for the […]

  5. Chorizo Tortas | Mexicanese - April 7, 2013

    […] with a spicy michelada and […]

Leave a Reply

