Chorizo con Huevo (my other favorite breakfast)

6 Nov

Yes, chilaquiles is a favorite. But, chorizo con huevo is about ten times faster and just as delicious. It was the first meal I craved after 25 days of Asian food and boyfriend’s mom hooked it up. This is another meal that the boyfriend taught me to make. It also might be the breakfast that he cooked for me that made me decide he was a keeper – I love it that much.

Chorizo is like a Mexican sausage, most typically pork, but I see it with beef frequently also. However, although we are certainly not vegetarians, we prefer this dish with soy chorizo. The flavor is obviously not as strong as the pork chorizo, but with the frequency that we eat this for breakfast, it just feels healthier. Be aware though – for some ridiculous reason the soy chorizo tends to be much pricier than the pork chorizo. Due to this reason, the other day I saw a sale for the soyrizo for 99 cents and bought ten. Seriously. The boyfriend was cracking up at me because I let out such a squeal of delight at the grocery store when I saw that sign. Who gets that excited for chorizo? This girl, apparently.

Since dating the boyfriend, I have also become a snob about tortillas. I used to always eat the Mission brand and thought they were perfect (just like canned refried beans). And, why not? I had never been exposed to anything different. Pero, there is a HUGE difference. Now, we only buy these:

With one package of chorizo and three eggs, we both eat breakfast twice. To cook the chorizo con huevo, I start with a little minced garlic and chopped onion in the pan with olive oil on medium heat. Once that cooks down a bit, add the chorizo.

Boyfriend likes the chorizo crispy. Because it is soy, you need to have enough oil in your pan so it won’t burn. If you were to use real chorizo, there is usually enough fat in the pork that this isn’t a necessity. Once the chorizo is cooked down so that is crispy, it looks like this:

Take your three eggs and beat them with milk, salt, and pepper. Pour them over the chorizo and stir, stir, stir until it is all cooked.

Cook your tortillas and serve up!

The great thing about this breakfast is that you can eat it with just about anything you like….just with a tortilla as a scooper, as a burrito, with beans, with papas (potatoes), sour cream, avocado, salsa, tapatio…oh, the options are endless and they are all delicious! And drink it with a michelada!

The Boyfriend Rates It:4.5
I grew up eating this and it’s still super delicious to me. Just the smell of the chorizo cooking gets me out of bed. Something about that smokey spicy smell. And served with a good tortilla, beans, avocado and a great salsa, MMMMMMMM.

2 Responses to “Chorizo con Huevo (my other favorite breakfast)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy Hour: Crostini with Brie and Dates, Black Bean Dip, and Chorizo and Cheese Puff Pastry « Mexicanese - November 9, 2012

    […] This recipe begins exactly the same as chorizo con huevo. […]

  2. Chorizo Tortas | Mexicanese - April 7, 2013

    […] are a mainstay in my fridge. Friday mornings (the day I am allowed to eat carbs), I tend to make chorizo con huevo for breakfast. But, the other weekend, the boyfriend and I were at the Mexican market and noticed […]

Leave a Reply

