Broccoli Cheddar Soup

4 Nov

I don’t know where my dad got this recipe from, but aside from the steak and potatoes he fed me as a single dad (did I mention I was a vegetarian when I was a teenager/young 20’s?), this is one meal I remember him cooking. He also liked to cook tapioca pudding for dessert. Those are the three things I ever remember my dad making by himself. Love you, dad.

As the weather cools down (at least in my mind it should be, today it is 88 degrees in San Diego), I am determined to make lots of soup — it at least makes me have the feeling of fall that my Washington roots call out for. First up, broccoli cheddar soup. I got the recipe from The Food Network.

I did a few things different from this recipe…I definitely didn’t serve it inside a bread bowl – I just made garlic bread for that. But, the main difference is that I doubled the veggies..I used 2 heads of broccoli and 2 large carrots. For the cheese, I used colby jack. But in terms of the recipe directions, I pretty much followed the recipe since it was my first time making this soup.

I like my veggies!

To start, you simply melt some butter in a Dutch Oven. Add your onions (a few of my chopped carrots escaped in there) and cook down for a few minutes.

Then, add in your flour and cook for 2-3 minutes. Then, add the half and half, the chicken stock, the bay leaves, salt, pepper, and nutmeg (I would add a few dashes extra than the recipe calls for..it is fall season!).

This needs to be stirred and simmered for about 20 minutes.

Once it starts to thicken, add in your broccoli and carrots.

Simmer for about 20 minutes. Then, I took my handy-dandy hand blender and blended the veggies into the soup. I normally see broccoli cheddar soup served with a pretty uniform consistency, but I like chunks of broccoli so I didn’t blend it completely. Then, add your cheese. This melts pretty quick. Aaaaannnddd…you’re done. How simple is that?

I served these with some garlic bread. I am a gorda. I like each slice of bread to have lots of butter, half a clove of chopped garlic, salt, pepper, and parsley.

Serve the garlic bread with your cheesy broccoli soup and dinner (and lunch tomorrow) is served!

The Boyfriend Rates It:3.5
Creamy with good chunks of veggies. Garlic bread was a great addition. Add bacon and it would have been a 4 😉

3 Responses to “Broccoli Cheddar Soup”

  1. Bestof2sisters November 4, 2012 at 11:37 am #

    Too easy and too good to be true! Must include this in my list of “soups to try”! / Louisa

    • dplumly November 4, 2012 at 11:49 am #

      Thank you! It is definitely a quick meal and a comforting one, at that.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Loaded Baked Potato & Broccoli Soup | Mexicanese - February 24, 2013

    […] like a soup? Whaaaa? Now I have seen lots of recipes for baked potato soup and I have made my own broccoli-cheddar soup, so we decided that combining them might create a great final product — it […]

Leave a Reply

