Bacon Avocado Grilled Cheese

31 Oct

For my birthday a few months ago, I received one of my new favorite kitchen tools. My mama and Conniesan sent this to me —

It is glorious for grilling sandwiches or paninis. It presses the sandwich down so that you can get a wonderful crispy crust on your bread and gooey, melty cheese.

The other day, I was craving a good grilled cheese. It was “cold” in San Diego, which means it probably was about 65 degrees and something warm and cheesy sounded delicious. Over the weekend, I had purchased a large bag of avocados from a local farmer and still had a few leftover that I decided to use in this sandwich. I also had chipotle cheddar cheese from earlier in the week, and like always, some bacon in the freezer. So it came to be – a bacon avocado grilled cheese.

For the bacon, I used my favorite sweet and spicy bacon recipe.

Sliced up the avocado and the cheese and went to work!

Making a grilled cheese is pretty basic — but this new kitchen tool is the secret to making it perfect.

For me, this was the grilled cheese I was looking for: crispy, buttery bread, melty cheese, creamy avocado, and spicy, sweet bacon. Perfection!

I also recently made another grilled cheese sandwich that I paired with the butternut squash soup that I highly recommend. It as made in the exact same way but had mozzarella cheese, eggplant slices (cooked in the oven for about 15 minutes with olive oil, salt, and pepper until tender), and basil leaves. Also, glorious.

I have a feeling that as this cooler weather continues, I will be exploring with many more soup and sandwich combos!

The Boyfriend Rates It: 4. Cheesy, creamy, crispy…and bacon. All perfectly pressed together.

2 Responses to “Bacon Avocado Grilled Cheese”

  1. Connie November 3, 2012 at 10:26 am #

    This reminds me of living in LA and we used to make these quite often. We had friends that had an avacado tree so we were “rich” with avacados! We called them bacado sandwich’s. keep cookin’ Dyane, Love ya, Connie

    • dplumly November 3, 2012 at 8:38 pm #

      Grilled sandwiches, avocado or not, are sooo much better because of that press from you and my mama!

Leave a Reply

