Thai Green Curry

21 Oct

When I was in Thailand, I took an amazing cooking class and learned (finally) how to cook my favorite Thai dish — green curry. I have attempted to make this dish several times and it was always a fail. When I make Japanese curry, I always buy the packaged curry mix because it is what my mom always did (I will continue to always do this because it is my mom’s style and isn’t mom’s food always the best?). In that same thought, I had used prepared green curry paste to make Thai Green Curry. However, in this choice, was my mistake. Making curry can be a bit time consuming, but oh-so-worth it.

To make the curry paste, you need the following ingredients:
15 Thai green chiles (must be green to maintain the green color)
1 shallot, sliced
2-3 garlic cloves, minced
1 TBSP ginger (in Thailand, we used galangal, but I have not seen this at local stores, even the Asian ones)
1 tsp Kaffir lime peel (again, I can’t find this so I used regular limes — it definitely changes the flavor)
1 tsp coriander seed
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp shrimp paste
1/2 tsp salt

If you have a mortar, grind all these ingredients together until they create a paste. Alternatively, you can use a blender. However, I really do believe that grinding the ingredients breaks down and blends the flavors together better.

My cooking instructor told us that you can keep this in the fridge for about 30 days. You can also freeze it for about 2-3 months, but if you freeze it, cook it in a little oil first to release the flavors again.

Then, comes the actual curry.

To make Thai Green Curry, you will need:
1-2 Chicken breasts, sliced into thin pieces (the thinner, the faster it will cook)
2 tbsp of the green curry paste you just made
1 cup coconut milk
1 cup of mixed vegetables — my favorites for this dish are eggplant, baby corn, and bamboo shoots
5 Kaffir lime leaves (I can’t find these, but this is what we used in the class)
10 leaves Thai basil (I substituted the sweet basil that is easily found in grocery stores)
7-8 Thai green chiles (adjust this depending on your spice tolerance)
1/2 TBSP fish sauce
1/2 TBSP soy sauce (the original recipe calls for 1 TBSP of fish sauce, but I don’t love that flavor so I half it with shoyu)
2 tsp sugar

Thai green chiles. If you noticed the dried red chiles, those are for red curry paste. The same recipe, with the switch out of these chiles, will give you red curry instead of green curry.

Directions:
1. In a wok, bring the coconut milk and the green curry paste to a simmer.
2. Add the chicken. Remember, this needs to be sliced THIN so that this cooks within a few minutes.
3. Add your vegetables and cook.
4. Add fish sauce, shoyu, and sugar to taste.
5. Add the kaffir lime leaves and basil.
6. Keep tasting and add more salt and/or sugar to your taste. Let simmer for a few more minutes and then it’s ready!

Serve with a bowl of white rice and enjoy!

The Boyfriend Rates It:4
I didn’t grow up eating curry but it is one of my favorite dishes. I mean, it has heat from the Thai chillies and a little bit of sweet from the coconut milk. Whats not to like. It is a dish with many layers and complex flavors.

Leave a Reply

