Butternut Squash Soup

16 Oct

This became a fall favorite of mine last year. To me, it is the epitome of fall – it has butternut squash (which is abundant in every grocery store once October rolls around), the spice of nutmeg, and its soup. What is more comforting on a chilly day than a bowl of hot soup served with a side salad and crusty bread? Of course, San Diego is still at least 70 degrees outside, but sometimes the nostalgia for rainy Seattle evenings are enough to make me want soup anyway.

This soup is also delicious served with beet and goat cheese salad. This past time, I made eggplant mozzarella paninins/grilled cheese to go with — and they were pretty delish, especially when dipped into the soup. Even better? This soup is ridiculously easy.

To start with, I had a butternut squash that I bought from a local farmer. I would guess it was 2-3 pounds. To chop this baby up, you’re going to need to bust out your cleaving knife. Butternut squash is no weak vegetable and chopping it up can be a workout. I first took a vegetable peeler and peeled the outside of the squash — I did leave some strips of skin, though, because I always hear the peels of veggies and fruits are the most nutritious. Then, I chopped the squash into about 1-inch cubes.

Then, in my dutch oven, I took a little butter and a little olive oil and cooked some garlic (about 2-3 cloves) and one chopped onion and cooked with a little salt and pepper until the onions were translucent. This isn’t really traditional of butternut squash soup, but I like to add a little heat to everything I cook, so I also added red pepper flakes for a lil’ kick.

Then, toss in the butternut squash and some chicken stock. I think I used two cans, but you basically want enough to cover the squash in your pot. From here, let it simmer until the squash is soft. I think this took me about 20 minutes.

After the squash is cooked through, I took my hand blender and mixed it all together! If you have a real blender, I would use that because the hand blender splashed hot soup on me and that wasn’t the greatest. Once it has started to reach the consistency that you want for your soup, add in a few pinches of nutmeg. The nutmeg is what gives this soup that great autumn, boots and scarves, type of feel. It makes me want to go carve pumpkins and wear orange. Adjust with salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes as necessary and then, serve!

I topped mine with some flat-leaf parsley that I had in the fridge. I have read other recipes that used sage and apparently the two are a great combo, but I haven’t done this with sage before. The definite requirement for this soup is some type of grilled cheese or at least crusty, garlicky bread for dipping.

The Boyfriend Rates It: 4- The soup was creamy and surprisingly delicious, for being so simple. Though not pictured here, the grilled eggplant mozzarella panini was a great complement.

3 Responses to “Butternut Squash Soup”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bacon Avocado Grilled Cheese « Mexicanese - October 31, 2012

    […] also recently made another grilled cheese sandwich that I paired with the butternut squash soup that I highly recommend. It as made in the exact same way but had mozzarella cheese, eggplant […]

  2. Squash & Kale Pasta « Mexicanese - November 5, 2012

    […] is adapted from a blog that I read here. I was looking for a different way to eat squash beside the soup that I have made twice this year already. It is fall season, and I am trying to learn how to cook […]

  3. Butternut Squash Mash | Mexicanese - March 18, 2013

    […] favorite vegetable as of late. At the local grocery store, it is abundant and cheap. I have made a butternut squash soup out of it, simply roasted it with olive oil, salt, and pepper, butternut squash risotto, au gratin, […]

Leave a Reply

