Banana Pancakes

13 Oct

Breakfast is usually the boyfriend’s job. But, since we are trying to eat breakfast every morning now (it is the most important meal of the day, right?) I am trying to learn a few breakfast recipes also. I found this recipe on the Food Network. The original recipe is here.

The adapted recipe list is as follows (the bold is what I did different from the original recipe):

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 tablespoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 large eggs
1 1/4 cups whole milk
1 tablespoon melted unsalted butter, plus 3 tablespoons
3 ripe bananas, cut into 1/3-inch slices

And of course, extra banana slices, syrup, and butter to top off the pancakes.

Now, mind you, cooking food that I can’t taste along the way or when appearance matters, is a challenge for me.. That means my pancakes are not pretty looking. Hopefully you’re better at getting that perfect golden brown and the perfect circle, but, as far as my tummy was concerned, they were pretty tasty.

First, I mixed the dry ingredients together and the wet ingredients together. Then, I slowly added the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. Lastly, sliced up 2-3 bananas into that mixture. The mixture should be lumpy.

Next, do the best you can to pour the batter nicely into your pan. I greased mine with PAM spray, but I think that contributed to the darker color on my pancakes, rather than that nice golden brown pancakes normally have. I tried to pour mine into this cute little heart shape. I got it as a gift for Valentine’s Day from my sweet mama a few years ago, but as you can see from the batter pouring out the edges, I am still working on perfecting it. Once the batter gets little bubbles, flip it and cook for about another minute on the other side until they are cooked to perfection.

As you can see, the heart pancakes I was trying to cook up for a cute breakfast in bed for the boy wasn’t working too good. So, I switched to irregular circle shaped pancakes.

This recipe makes a lot, by the way. I think it could have served 4 people with 2-3 pancakes each (depending on the size you pour). Overall, the recipe is good — I just need to learn to pour the batter better. Practice makes perfect, right?

Enjoy!

The Boyfriend Rates It: 3, couldn’t quite put my finger on it but something was missing.

Leave a Reply

