Taco Salad

12 Oct

I will eat anything as long as it has sour cream. And when you add chipotles to the sour cream, I will eat even more of it. Hence, taco salad.

Taco salad is ridiculously easy to make – but it can be a bit time consuming with all the chopping, salsa making, and the like. For me, since I am still suffering from the SE Asia time change, I have tried to use this to my advantage. Since I make a black bean corn salsa for this salad, I start the  beans the night before, boil the chicken the morning of, and boil the corn the morning of. This makes the actual dinner prep much easier when I come home ready to eat.

First things first, I make the black beans. I put roughly a cup of washed black beans into the crockpot with garlic, salt, and pepper and cook on high for about four hours. I always start this during the evening and after the four hours, switch it low while I sleep through the night, and then they are always pretty much ready by the time I wake up in the morning.

Next, I boil the chicken. Some people may not like this, but goodness gracious, is it a time saver. When it comes time to put the meal together, I shred the cooked chicken and cook it in the salsa that I’ve made so that it retains the juiciness and adds some great flavor.

Oh yeah, that salsa recipe. Salsa is still an art I have to master. I have the chilaquiles salsa down pretty good, but the boyfriend just wanted a chunky tomato salsa for the taco salad so I tried to just whip one together. Its very simple — tomatoes, onion, jalapenos, garlic, salt, and pepper. I wish I had cilantro because I think fresh chopped cilantro added to anything makes that thing taste better.

Cook all these ingredients down until the tomatoes start to release a lot of their juices. Then, whip out your blender (I have a hand blender, so I put it right in the pan) and mix. I left mine a little chunky, per boyfriend’s request. Salt/pepper to taste.

Then, the black bean and corn salad. This is so delicious, you might want to eat it with tortilla chips all by itself. Also – very easy. Black beans, fresh corn, tomatoes, jalapenos, cilantro and flavored with salt, pepper, a dash of cumin (I know it sounds off, but that taste is right-on), and red pepper flakes (as much as you like for the spice level).

What else was there? Oh yeah, my favorite part – the sour cream. In the past, I normally just add spoonfuls of sour cream (a dallop of Daisy!) on the top of my taco salad. The boyfriend does not love getting a spoonful of sour cream, as he prefers it mixed around evenly (what’s wrong with him?? I anticipate the bite and save it for last the whole meal). When the boyfriend’s mom made me chilaquiles a few weeks ago, she took the sour cream and mixed it with milk and salt — to replicate crema fresca. I took it one step further and added the juice of 1/2 a lime and 3 chopped up chipotles and about a spoonful of the liquid from the can to create chipotle sour cream dressing.

The chipotle come in a can like this:

The delicious sour cream dressing looks like this:

And then, you put it all together. Boyfriend is a bit particular about this layering process. It goes something like this:

Shredded iceberg lettuce
Crushed tortilla chips
Shredded chicken
Black bean and corn salsa
A few slices of avocado (sometimes even a little cotija on top of the avocado adds the perfect saltiness to it)
Shredded cheese of your choosing (I used chipotle cheddar this time)
Chipotle sour cream
Salsa
Chopped cilantro

Pretty much, perfection.

Enjoy!

The Boyfriend Rates It: 3.5
The corn and black bean salsa is refreshing, the chips make it nice and crunchy, and the chipotle gives it a good kick. But it’s still a salad.

One Response to “Taco Salad”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Black bean and corn salad | Mexicanese - May 19, 2013

    […] black bean and corn salad is a great accompaniment to a chicken dish or as a topping for taco salad. If I eat it in the taco salad, I don’t add the avocado because I add slices of avocado to my […]

Leave a Reply

