Bangrak Food Tour, Day 2

8 Oct

Before we left Bangkok to go back to San Diego, we decided we needed to top off the rest of our trip with some more eating. Although international flights are awesome because they still feed you real meals and alcohol, that doesn’t make it delicious food. So for our last day of vacation, we woke up and went out venturing again.

First things first, because we took off as soon as we were awake and packed, we needed some of the best orange juice I have ever tasted…

I don’t know why, but oranges in Southeast Asia are orange on the inside and look like limes on the outside. And they are freaken delicious when squeezed into orange juice. When we were in Bangkok the first time, when we first arrived in Cambodia, a Polish couple that we hung out with introduced us to these. 20 baht a bottle.

Orange juice will never be the same…unless I live in Thailand again.

Other than the juice, we decided to just try the few remaining things that we had yet to eat…(this kind of means the things I wasn’t eager to eat)

Fish ball soup. Exactly the way it sounds. I am not a stranger to fish balls, but the yumminess of these mashed up balls of chopped up fish meat truly depends on the quality of the meat and the texture that is created. These were so-so. Not my favorite, but not inedible. The broth was pretty good, but a bit salty for boyfriend and I’s palette. It was just fish balls, some thin noodles, and spring onion. Pretty simple. Cost a dollar and was rather filling with all that liquid.

After this, we went shopping a little bit in all the markets. I bought 2 shirts for about $7. They will probably last me just the fall season because they aren’t the best quality, but hey, who doesn’t mind a cute new shirt or two? I wanted to do more shopping but it was obnoxiously hot and the markets are like a maze – I don’t know how I would have ever gotten home if Emilio wasn’t blessed with some sense of direction and held my hand firmly the entire time.

As we walked home, which was a good 30 minutes away, in order to cool off with a few beers before we had to check out (another awesome thing about our hotel — they let us check in/out at our leisure) we decided to get two more snacks.

Fish ball wontons. Jaja.

There was a woman selling these wonton wrapped chopped up pieces of fish from a vendor. We saw a guy order a stick of them for like 10 baht and decided to go for it. We had absolutely no idea what she was selling or what the filling would be. They were, again, exactly what I expected. A sauce with them would have made them delicious, but they were just a bit dry for my liking.

And, because I am obsessed with street food and vendors who ride up in carts on their motorbikes, I thought I would also share a picture of what eating on the street means here…

I want to eat like this in the States.

And lastly, we got some take-away of pork fried rice to take to the airport with us. I think you probably know what fried rice looks like. (Note – we were served pork fried rice as one of our meals on the airport…this fried rice killed airplane fried rice).

And again, rather than $70, we spent MAYBE $3 today for our lunch. That’s less than $10 for both days. And we did some good eating. I am always going to make up my own food tours from now on. Waaaaay better. Plus, eating is definitely the best way to discover a new city or culture – at least when you’re pinche gordos like us!

5 Responses to “Bangrak Food Tour, Day 2”

  1. thedrunkenpig October 12, 2012 at 2:41 am #

    Those oranges looks really good! Great post!

    • dplumly October 12, 2012 at 11:51 am #

      Thank you! They are amazing tasting. Unfortunately, I have never seen them in the States and don’t know what they are called. If you have them, they make the best orange juice!

      • fusk October 12, 2012 at 12:06 pm #

        Agreed. I ate 3-5 of them everyday when I was in Peru.

      • dplumly October 12, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

        Of what?

  2. fusk October 14, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

    The green-on-the-outside oranges!

Leave a Reply

