Chicken Teriyaki

30 Nov

I have made chicken teriyaki before…if cooking chicken and pouring bottled teriyaki sauce over it counts. This time, I decided to make my own. I got this recipe here.

Ingredients:
- 4 chicken legs, skin on
- Ginger, grated
- Salt and pepper
- Vegetable oil
- 1 tbsp honey
- 1 tbsp mirin (Japanese sweet cooking wine)
- 2 tbsp sake (I used the cheapest bottle I could find)
- 1 tbsp shoyu

Directions:

1. The original recipe calls for you to have the chicken deboned. I don’t know how to do this. I just bought four chicken legs.

NOTE: If I was to make this for future use, I think I would use chicken breast. Leg/thigh meat is definitely more traditional, but its just too fatty and has cartiladge in it – not my favorite. I rather eat chicken breast. But, back to the directions…

Rub grated ginger and salt into the chicken skin for about 30 minutes. Once it has marinated, wipe off the ginger and pat the skin dry.

2. In a pan, pour some vegetable oil and place your chicken legs in the skillet. Let the skin get some color, but keep this on about medium-high heat because you don’t want to have a burnt outside and raw on the inside.

3. Pour about a tablespoon of sake in the pan and then cover the skillet. This helps to steam the chicken and have it cook. Because I didn’t think my chicken was done after the five minutes on the original recipe, I kept adding some sake and keeping this on rather low heat to get the chicken cooked through.

4. While the chicken is cooking, prepare your teriyaki sauce. Mix together the honey, sake, shoyu, mirin, salt, and pepper until combined. I kept adjusting this flavor until it is where I wanted it.

5. In the skillet with your chicken, soak up the excess oil that may be in your pan and then add the teriyaki sauce. Continue cooking the chicken in the teriyaki sauce until the chicken is cooked through and the sauce has become like a glaze over the chicken.

6. Once the chicken was done, I shredded the chicken off the bone — part of why I think this would be easier with chicken breast. Then, serve over a warm bowl of white rice and pour a little extra teriyaki sauce on top. Enjoy!

Also, since I made this only for lunches, I forgot to take a picture of the final product. Whoopsie.

The Boyfriend Rates It:4

I’m definitely not a cook by any means, but this dish seems like one I could easily make myself, meaning that there’s not much technique involved, meaning its hard to mess it up. The teriyaki sauce was tangy and sweet and the chicken was cooked to perfection. I’ve eaten teriyaki many time’s before and this one was definitely good, but it was just missing something to put it over the top. Maybe bacon!! j/k :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 339 other followers

